Increase Your Facebook Post Engagement With A Laugh!
You’re probably thinking, um what does she mean with a laugh? I laugh all the time and it doesn’t increase my post engagement?
The secret is, you need to make your potential customers laugh. Or, make them stop and say “that is really cool”. Brighten their day somehow. After all, Facebook is about being social on the internet with others. If all you do is post items for sale, business information, or discounts, the last thing someone is going to want to do is like your page.
People like Facebook pages for a few reasons.
- They had a wonderful experience at your business
- They want to know more about you before they visit
- They think your posts are funny, or you brightened their day
The third one is what we are tackling today! It is not a bad thing if someone likes your page simply because they think your posts are funny, or interesting. By posting what is relevant to your audience, target market, and so forth you are building a relationship with them. This will likely turn into future business. Let’s say a girl named Emma liked your page because you posted something funny. Fast forward to 6 months later, and Emma has not used any of your services, or visited your business. However, you just posted a picture of the funniest looking puppy Emma has ever seen. She shares the post. Her friend on Facebook, Michael, saw the picture, also thought it was great, and liked your page. You as a business owner continued to post funny, amusing, interesting facts, and so on. Michael thinks this is great. Then, let’s say you’re an automotive repair shop, and post a $15 off coupon for an oil change. Michael sees this and thinks to himself “this is handy, I need an oil change”. Michael then uses your business to get his oil changed from now on. All of this started because Emma shared your post. You gained a new customer, a new like on your page, and more money in your wallet. Who knows, Emma could still come in at any time!
I’ll give you a rundown of the stats:
I targeted Men and Women from ages 35-60 who live in 3 different locations. I chose this because these are the three locations, and ages that the business owner wants to target. Did you know you can target your advertising to a specific age, and to a specific location? (You can get even more specific than that!)
The business owner chose a $20 budget, and wanted the duration of the Facebook promotion (paid advertising to reach more people) to be 3 days long.
He ended up spending $6.13. What did he get in return? 90 Engagements. 90! For 6 bucks (plus the cost to pay me to create the post 😉
Of these 90 engagements, 16 people shared the post! These are great statistics for a small business owner.
Let’s say that even just 20 of these 90 people that engaged in the post booked their next oil change with this business.
A Standard Oil Change at this business is $49.99
So 20*49.99= $999.80 before tax.
And for the 16 people who shared the post, let’s say just ONE of their friends came to get their oil changed. Let’s add them to the mix!
36*49.99= $1,799.64 before tax.
That is AT LEAST $1,799.64 brought into your business from one ad.
WOW. That’s a lot of cash for spending $6.13 on an advertisement. I am 99% positive it would be hundreds or even thousands of dollars more than this too, because during the 36 safety inspections (included with the oil change), chances are the business will find problems, or maintenance that needs to be done to many of the cars. This $6 ad creates return customers too! Who knows how much money this one ad is capable of producing?
Point is, social media marketing is powerful. I have found that funny posts like this one produce the most engagements.
Try it for yourself today, or email firstname.lastname@example.org with your business information and social media links. I would be happy to develop a free proposal for your company, and make this happen for you!
*One disclosure I will make, is that yes, Facebook advertising is relatively inexpensive. However, these “3 locations” targeted are big cities. So it is easy to target more people for less money. I am working with a client right now that targets very small towns. So it takes more money to reach more people. So, as this ad took $6.13 to reach 2,753 people. It would probably take her 15-20 dollars to reach that many people. Still a great potential ROI!
Stay Tuned For More Social Media Marketing Information